Digital Preservation as a Site of Contestation: National Heritage, Memory, Politics and Power — Beyond Technology and Management

OK, so one more last post.  🙂  This one was just too important, and had to be blogged about.

Since I have left the LIS profession in South Africa, , as explained in my previous post, I had no intention of attending IFLA this year. However, I was persuaded by my former boss, mentor, colleague and friend, Peter Lor, to attend this outstanding satellite conference, and I am SO glad that I did.

This conference was hosted superbly by the University of the Western Cape and the IFLA Library Theory and Research section, and was a thrilling and refreshing professional inquiry into the politics and contests around digitization, particularly with regard to Cultural Heritage, and many of the presentations touched on themes I had raised in my book.

The programme gives an idea of the vitally important topics covered, and the abstracts and background of the presenters is here. The quality of the papers and people was outstanding! It is likely that the full papers will be published later in a special edition open access scholarly journal, and they definitely should be, but that will take some time. I will provide the link later on when this is finalised.

We also had a chance to visit the wonderful Mayibuye Centre Archives  located at the University of the Western cape.

On day two, we visited the unique District Six Museum and the presentations then followed at the Homecoming Centre.

I could not imagine a more perfect combination of  cultural heritage sites for our overseas visitors, and the University of the Western Cape (especially Sally Witbooi and Genevieve Hart from UWC), and Peter Lor really did us proud. I express my profound gratitude to them all, and all the wonderful delegates I met and engaged with during the lively discussions. For me, this was the perfect, warm-hearted closure to this path that I have followed for the past 14 years. Thank you to all!

Some images from the day at the District Six Museum:

100_4341 100_4342

100_4344 100_4345  100_4349

Beautiful people, as you can see.  🙂

And in the image below, the mastermind behind it all, Peter Lor, to whom I will always be grateful for the opportunities he gave me, that lead to the ideas developed in my book and Masters’ thesis. On his left is the Chair of the IFLA Library Theory and Research section, Anna Maria Tammaro (and with whom I had some wonderful discussions):


Peter Lor

So on that really heart-warming note, I have closure and fond memories of this time in my life. From me, thank you, and Goodbye.

100_4444

This entry was posted in Archives, Cultural Heritage, Libraries, Museums. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Digital Preservation as a Site of Contestation: National Heritage, Memory, Politics and Power — Beyond Technology and Management

  1. Sally Witbooi says:

    Dear Kim,

    Thank you for this blog on our contribution to IFLA 2015. Thank you for the pics.

    I am so sad to learn that you will be leaving the profession. Our interaction and specifically your participation at this satellite conference was very educative for me. I value your insights and inputs.

    Best wishes.

  2. Dear Sally,

    Thank you so much for your kind words (and apologies for the delay in reply, I have been out of town and offline since the Satellite).

    I congratulate you again on an outstanding Satellite Conference – having been involved with IFLA for 8 years, and arranging and attending several Satellites over the years myself, I can confidently say this one was a real world class winner!

    Thanks again, and all the best,

    Kim

Leave a Reply

